An Interview with Veronica Tabares, author of Gray Zone

Recently we caught up with Veronica Tabares, novelist, screenwriter and author of Gray Zone (one of Considered Bookshelf’s favourite books by the way!)

Veronica – we love the analogy of writing being like running in terms of being ‘in the zone’!

Veronica Tabares Author

Questions:

What do you enjoy most about being a writer?
Exercising my brain. When I get into the writing I get an endorphin rush, similar to the one runners get. I guess it’s my mind muscles rewarding me for giving them a workout.

Do you write full time or do you do other work? I write full time. Although I do have training in other fields, just in case times get tough. Which I hope doesn’t happen, since I’ve got a lot more writing to do.

Describe your writing schedule
I get up, make a cup of coffee, pull out my laptop, and write. I stop when my dog puts her head on my knee to remind me she needs a walk.

Do you write first and edit later, or do you perfect your writing as you go along?
My intention is to write first and edit later, but sometimes I come out of a daze to find I’ve edited several pages when I should have been creating a first draft. When that happens I give myself a stern talking to. Otherwise I’d never get a book done.

What is your latest book about?
My latest book, which doesn’t even have a title yet, has many of the same characters as my fourth novel (Department of Temporal Adjustment), but goes much deeper into the potential consequences of time travel.

What has been the best achievement in your writing career?
Gray Zone was the 2015 Bronze Winner Best Juvenile/Young Adult in the Feathered Quill Book Awards. I’m pretty happy about that.

What advice would you give to authors who are struggling to find enough time to write?
Just do it. I wrote my first four novels while working full time and raising four children. Every little bit you do adds up. Even ten minutes a day will eventually equal a book.

What are your writing goals?
It differs by book. My first three books, the Behold the Eye trilogy, were written because my daughters were voracious readers and I was having trouble keeping them supplied with books. I know that sounds crazy, since the world is full of books. But when your 10-year-old reads at a 12th grade level, the right books can be difficult to find.

My third novel, Department of Temporal Adjustment, I wrote for the fun of it. It’s kind of a nostalgic remembrance of my time as a full-time student and mother. With a smidgen of time travel mixed in for good measure.

I was compelled to write Gray Zone because I wanted to make a difference. I thoroughly enjoyed my time as the Head Librarian at a K-12 private school, but some of the things I learned there broke my heart. Powerful technology in the hands of uninformed students can have devastating consequences.

What’s next for Veronica R. Tabares?
A couple of years ago I got my MFA in Creative Writing, and I used the opportunity to learn screenwriting. I’ve written two original screenplays, adapted three of my books, and am currently working on another original script.

The two formats, screenwriting and novel writing, are polar opposites of each other. Which makes me happy, since the more I do of both, the stronger writer I’ll become.

So I’ll continue to write both screenplays and novels. The books will most likely get published so that anyone who wants to read them can. The screenplays, well, that’s up to Hollywood.

Take care, and happy reading!

Click to see book on Amazon.com

Click to see book on Amazon.com

Comments welcome!

